Skip to content

and they’re off!

Another school year started today. One child inching toward middle school, feeling cool and confident. One firmly entrenched in the elementary years, excited to see her friends but nervous about multiplying and dividing (probably in more ways than just math). And another one taking on a new challenge, initiated into the full day of school club. The first day in almost eleven years in which no child is at home. Completely mind-blowing for me.

I know it is a silly cliché, but seriously, how did they grow up so fast?

So, it will be a year of new adventures for them. And for me.

Over the last few years I’ve stashed away a little dream list. A quiet list of ideas to explore, experiment, accomplish and maybe even possibly fail (even that is life affirming). Throughout the years, whether I have worked or stayed at home with the kids, I have scribbled down big dreams and little dreams for myself on this worn, torn up sheet of paper. Always reminding myself of who I am. Just never feeling like it was the right time to try them out…always giving myself some breathing room.

Well, I think now is perfect time to unfold that list.

xo-k

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. lovely photo. happy first day of school.
    now, onto this list. this sounds exciting, and it sounds like you plan on sharing? i can’t wait to see what your list holds, if so!!

    September 7, 2011
  2. What a lovely trio! They all look so happy and confident. The two girls look so alike. Can’t wait to hear about what you’re thinking of doing – wine bar methinks?

    September 7, 2011
  3. Seriously BEAUTIFUL family!! Enjoy your bittersweet alone time :)

    September 7, 2011
  4. Such cuties! And now time for you to chase your dreams. How exciting!!

    September 8, 2011
  5. Thanks so much, ladies. I’ll fess up some of the list soon…some of it is a little goofy, but hey, they are dreams, right?

    September 8, 2011
  6. Looks like we’re both catching up on our reader in the midst of ‘quiet time.’ :)

    I know this is such a common thing to say, but your kids look so darn cute.

    Just happy, and excited… & full on anticipation. It’s nice to feel that way along with them during this time each year… anticipation for them, and for us (as we each have our own list to unfold) :).

    September 8, 2011
  7. How exciting! For the kids, for you – I can’t wait to hear (and follow) along.

    Jenn

    September 9, 2011
  8. Your kids are too cute! and How exciting for you!! Can’t wait to hear what you have up your sleeve…I love my girls little but selfishly am looking forward to that day for me as well :)

    September 20, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. how katie got her groove back: she took some pictures of fruit. | salt+pine

Leave a comment